WAKING MY-LAZY-SELF UP

Published on by Taha Javaid Siddiqui

 

The rapid increase in the mental tension, about the fact that I am not studying the way I used to before and which can lead me to bad grades in the annual examinations, has left me wholly paralyzed. Half a year has passed since my admission in NEDUET, in the prestigious field of Petroleum Engineering. I had studied a lot in H.S.C to get to the position where I am standing today and that nature of seriousness towards studies has vanished inside me since I made my first step at NED.

people studying

I had always heard the quote “Do your best academically in Inter and later on, if that intermediate result lets you grab a renowned and honorable institution then no one can stop you from touching  the clouds of success in your career”. People used to say that study and university-life do not go hand in hand, infact, varsity offers a little to study and a lot to entertain. To be honest, I have experienced that entertainment and yeah, it seems to have no ending but those kinds of remarks over the contemplation are far too much exaggerated. Now, that I am enrolled at a university, I can say without any over-statement that contemplation at this level is much tough and is easier said than done. These studies can beat the living daylights out of students who do not take them seriously. It requires more time, more understanding and more effort to get over the topics at this level than anywhere else.

Now, as I was narrating my story, I had, since the beginning of my institution, paid the least attention to the academic subjects. I had diverted my whole interest to co-curricular activities which, I know would really get counted on my professional CV but you can never neglect studies for those activities and I did prefer the unimportant over the important. My heart gave a hiatus to my devoted nature to subjects, it told me to wake that nature up later in the summer vacations. Whenever I used to sit down with books and pen, my pitiful internal instinct always relaxed me and forbade me to get upset over those books because, as it used to say, I would cover them up later in the long summer break I would get. Now, when almost half of those holidays have passed, I stand at the same stature hoping to change my attitude towards studies soon enough before the holidays end and act upon that advice of my heart. The major hurdle which stands between the books and me is the on-going euphoric FIFA World Cup. With the likes of Italy and France, the defending champions and the runner-up of the last World Cup, already kicked out of the tournament, this major event proves to be a spectacular treat for the soccer fans like me all around the globe. The Wimbledon and The Asia Cricket Cup also fall no short of any iron curtains which keep me off the study table every time.

man-watching-tv-lg-93547656.jpg

With the dry fundamental courses of engineering such as Mechanics, Electrical Engineering and Engineering Drawing, my performance has been low because of my lack of interest since they do not have any relation with my field. I pray to the Almighty to make me develop interest in these subjects because I have to, in any case, get through them in order to reach the next level of my under grad program. I hope that I would make the most out of these vacations and not let the television especially the sports distract me any further and I really wish I would keep both the studies and entertainment in balance.

Oh God! Help me!

 

Published on Ad Hominem

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post
T
<br /> thanks!<br /> <br /> <br />
Reply
S
<br /> i really like<br /> <br /> <br />
Reply